Unplug with Typetalk’s new ‘Do Not Disturb’ feature

Efficient communication with your team is important, but there are certain times when you just need to disconnect and escape the distraction of constant notifications. Whether you’re sitting down with your family for quality time after a hard day’s work or walking into an important meeting where you need total focus to bring your A-game, having the ability to silence the noise of constant communication is important for both your productivity and your sanity.

Now you can easily disengage from the conversation with our new “Do Not Disturb” feature.

Do Not Disturb Feature

 

How does it work?

When the Do Not Disturb feature is enabled, all notifications—including desktop notifications as well as push notifications sent to your mobile devices—are temporarily disabled.

For desktop users this means no messages sliding in and out of your view, no animating icons jumping in your dock, no sounds, and no sidebar dots or icon badges. (Of course, you can also control which of these settings you want in the first place using your Notifications settings page.)

For mobile users, this means no messages lighting up on your phone’s home screen. (Again, you can personalize these settings from the start using your mobile apps Notifications settings page.)

As soon as you’re ready to reconnect, just disable the Do Not Disturb feature, and your notification settings will return to normal.

Any new messages received during your enabled Do Not Disturb period will be available for viewing and marked as unread.

How to enable the “Do Not Disturb” feature

There are two ways to enable our new “Do Not Disturb” feature.

Manually

Use this method to enable your Do Not Disturb feature immediately for a selected amount of time, with options of 30 minutes, 1 hour, 2 hours, 4 hours, or 8 hours.

Do Not Disturb is disabledDo Not Disturb is disabled.

Do Not Disturb is enabledDo Not Disturb is enabled.

To disable the feature before your selected time arrives, just click the “Reset” button.

Scheduled

Use this method to schedule a recurring Do Not Disturb period. Under your Notifications settings page, you’ll find the option to select a start and end time. Check the “Disable desktop and mobile notifications from” box, and click the “update” button to save your changes.

Check the “Disable desktop and mobile notifications from” box, and click the “update” button to save your changes.To disable the feature, just uncheck the box and save again.

To disable the feature, just uncheck the box and save again.

Please Note: The scheduled feature operates according to the timezone settings indicating under your Nulab account.

To change it, you’ll need to save a new timezone under your Nulab account settings.

 

 

save a new timezone under your Nulab account settings

How do I know when it’s enabled?

Regardless of whether you enable your Do Not Disturb feature manually or scheduled, you’ll be able to see the status of the feature by looking at your notifications icon.

When Do Not Disturb is enabled, it will look like this.When Do Not Disturb is enabled, it will look like this.

When Do Not Disturb is disabled, it will look like this.When Do Not Disturb is disabled, it will look like this.

Other Updates

With this update, we have also made a small change to how badges display on MacOS and iOS apps.

MacOS

On MacOS, you will see a numbered badge display for mentions and direct messages only. Updates to unread favorited topics will display as a period.

No updates to display. No updates to display.

Unread mentions and/or DMs.Unread mentions and/or DMs.

Unread messages in your favorite topics.Unread messages in your favorite topics.

iOS

On iOS apps, you will only be notified about mentions and direct messages. No badge will display for unread favorite topics.

No mentions and/or DMs.No mentions and/or DMs.

Unread mentions and/or DMs.Unread mentions and/or DMs.